The Walking Dead – Press Day in Singapore

Yesterday I was in Singapore for a 2-day The Walking Dead junket trip. It was such an excitement to be there because the talents who came to Singapore are the show’s biggest stars, namely Norman Reedus (Daryl Dixon) and Andrew Lincoln (Rick Grimes). I’m quite amazed that they came to Asia, let alone Singapore, which is very close to Indonesia. But they told me that Mr. Lincoln and Mr. Reedus also felt privileged to be able to come to our side of the world.

the-walking-dead-junket-2014-01-13 the-walking-dead-signature-2014-01-13 the-walking-dead-sign-2014-01-13

Funnily enough, about half of the journalists who came to the press day are fans of the show as well. I’m a fan of the comic book and the show so naturally I asked for their signatures on my copy of The Walking Dead comic book (by Robert T. Kirkman, whom Reedus and Lincoln mentioned a few times during our Q&A). Also, my chief editor asked me to ask Lincoln to sign a copy of his Love, Actually Blu-ray box.

The Walking Dead‘s popularity as a show is undisputed. I would be hard pressed to find any other show that is still able to maintain their game at this very intense level on their fourth or fifth season. The Walking Dead is visceral and cerebral at the same time, supplying us with gore and violence that are paired perfectly with human drama and psychology. This is a show where a character banishment can hurt a lot more than a character death; but when they do kill someone, they make those characters earn it. There’s no gratuitous killing – when someone dies, the impact is very much felt and absorbed.

As you may recall, this show didn’t even make it to the Top 10 of my Favorites Of The Year 2013 list. But I did explain that that decision was a personal one because I still couldn’t get over the death of one of the characters I really like. It’s funny how I can deal with Game Of Thrones deaths but not The Walking Dead – “The Red Wedding” episode provided as much angst as TWD‘s last episode did. But the difference is, I didn’t care much for Robb Stark. TWD‘s death felt more similar to Sean Bean’s character’s death in the first season of GoT.

Anyway, Lincoln and Reedus promised us an amazing last half of season 4. I can’t wait for this show to be back on TV. Fox Movies Premium will air this series only mere hours after the US; there is no longer a week-long gap between US air date and Asian air date. Forget those lo-res Torrents… this is one show worth seeing on HD TV!

Leave a Reply

