HBO Asia’s Game Of Thrones Writing Competition and Prize

Last April, a few weeks after I officially joined Total Film Indonesia magazine as features editor (after having been their contributor for two years), I was assigned to write the article of HBO’s Game Of Thrones Season 2. And gladly I did that because I love the series, I am familiar with the works of George R. R. martin and this whole thing is like a walk in the part for me.

 

The article included  exclusive interviews with Michelle Fairley, who plays Catelyn Stark, and Kit Harington, who plays Jon Snow – an opportunity given to us by HBO Asia, who kindly let us submit questions during a press junket. (We didn’t go there ourselves due to time constraints but I’m happy enough to get an exclusive so I wasn’t complaining.) So I wrote those six pages of articles, with the two interviews, included the quiz, and submitted it before the deadline and I was done. Then The Avengers happened and my life was consumed by  it and Marvel’s Cinematic Universe and everything else became irrelevant.

Several days ago, my phone rang with a call from HBO Asia’s rep in Indonesia. After exchanging pleasantries, the rep then told me, “We’d like to invite you for lunch on Thursday because your article has been nominated as a winner for the Game Of Thrones S2 writing competition.” My first reaction was, “A writing competition? What competition?” (Long story short – it wasn’t that they didn’t tell us about it. They did tell us about it but the wrong person who represented us during the announcement forgot to inform the rest of us of the competition.) Despite my puzzlement, I confirmed my attendance to the lunch event anyway.

So earlier today I went there and what happened was that our magazine became the winner of HBO Asia’s Game Of Thrones S2 writing competition for magazine category. They awarded us with none other than the A Game Of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition). And, naturally, it was pure awesomeness.

I’ve heard rumors of a Game Of Thrones board game before but since games – board ones or otherwise – never interested me, I didn’t bother looking for information on it. But now that I’ve found out about its existence and held it in my hands, I have to admit that it looks mighty cool. And complicated. There doesn’t seem to be a way I can play this without my head spinning so I will just show you a few pictures of how it looks like without explaining the details.

  

Reading the back of the box [right], the gist I got was that the game is about making our way to the Iron Throne during a war between the families of Westeros. (I think as players, we represent the Houses?) But I could be wrong because I only had time to skim through the whole thing before writing this report. Seeing the pieces inside the box [middle] I felt slightly intimidated by their number – there are two boards, paper fortresses, flat pieces, character cards and lord knows what else. Don’t get me wrong – it looks fun, but also complicated.

My colleagues and I in TFI‘s editorial team will be playing this game soon (maybe after our deadline at the end of this month). On the meantime, I have to read the guidelines… and maybe find some kind of A Game Of Thrones: The Board Game 101 on the Internet. (In case you’re wondering, I’m hoping to play as House Targaryen in this game.)

Before I sign off, I want to thank HBO Asia for the prize (and the lunch and the conversation!) They really are good at building relations with their business partners. Thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

