Livejournal, why so FAIL? – Another Update

Good morning, LJ users. Before we start with the situational updates, can I just ask if you were like me this morning? That is, were you elated seeing LJ’s status page and Twitter update that more or less says “the site has no problems anymore – welcome back!”… only to be crushed when you went on the site to do stuff (like, oh, I don’t know… LOG IN?!) and you can’t because the site was still very much not functioning for you? If you experienced this, I give you my utmost sympathy and I will hug you virtually until the end of time. I really know how that feels.

SO. Latest updates.

The website is still having problems:

[+] I tried logging in to Livejournal using FIREFOX:
– First time at 10.45 my time (my timezone is GMT +7) I got this message: Varnish Error 503 Service Unavailable. Please try refreshing the page. If the problem continues, please let our support team know.

– But I can’t even get to the Support section of the site.

– Next step: I cleared the cookies in FIREFOX, logged in, and it works for me but all the pages load VERY SLOWLY. I had to reload many times to get the full view of the pages.

[+] Then I tried logging in with CHROME:
– The pages load very slowly even logged out.

– I experimented trying to open the support section. When I tried to open the support section, I got this message: Varnish Error 503 Service Unavailable. Please try refreshing the page. If the problem continues, please let our support team know.

– I still can’t log in from CHROME. I can only load the pages while LOGGED OUT.

[+] For ALL BROWSERS:
– I STILL CAN’T MAKE COMMENTS/POST REPLIES. There is something seriously wrong with their .bml thingie. I don’t know what .bml is but it’s just not working for me.

[+] At 11.15 (my timezone is UTC/GMT +7):
– I managed to submit support request after logging in via Firefox.
– I still sent e-mail to support@livejournal.com outlining the above problem.
– I have not yet received any replies.
– I saw someone else’s support request about how they haven’t been able to post anything in the last several days and this is Livejournal’s response:

The problem you are experiencing is related to the Distributed Denial of Service attack currently being experienced by LiveJournal. LiveJournal Staff is currently working with LiveJournal’s host to address this and limit the impact on users, however it is not known when service will be restored to normal.

While LiveJournal Staff are working to restore the site to normal operation, I recommend watching http://status.livejournal.org for updates.

[+] Finally, after realizing that the website is still screwing people over everywhere, just now Livejournal admits that there are still problems with the website:

LiveJournal Status

The site is currently up and mostly functional, but we’re not completely back. Pages may intermittently return Varnish Error 503 or fail to load for short periods of time. If you receive an error 503, or a page fails to load, refreshing the the page may work, and if that fails, waiting a few minutes and trying again can help. We’re still working hard to get everything back to normal.

Status Updated: 3:49 am GMT (Friday, July 29)

That’s your latest update. Make of that what you will. I’m seriously disappointed in them. They know their website is vulnerable against DDOS attacks – couldn’t they have done something to improve their system’s security? They’re an international company and blogging platform with global users. They should know better than to be lax about everything. I’m not going to entirely give up on them but this is very exhausting. Those who have been with Livejournal for many years (I’ve been there since 2003) deserve better service than what they’ve been giving us since 2009.

Seriously, Livejournal, I don’t hate you but… GET YOUR CRAP TOGETHER.

Finally, remember: BREATHE.

EDIT 2.54 PM (UTC/GMT +7)
I just made two posts from Firefox and Chrome and they worked.
Post 1
Post 2
Post 3 (at 3.23 PM UTC/GMT +7)

So for now the website is running fine for me while logged in. However, the status page still warns us of error (unchanged from a few hours before). Expect some other errors still in the next few hours, or even in the next few days. Let’s just hope nothing screws it up again.

Additionally, TIME wrote Why Have Hackers Hit Russia’s Most Popular Blogging Service?

EDIT 8.50 PM (UTC/GMT +7)
– I managed to make a longer post (than the previous 3 I posted) around 10 minutes ago: Post 4 – PROGRESS.
– I tried posting a fanfiction (around 2000 words) to an LJ community earlier, but failed. If your post is a long one, the website will give you an Internal Server Error warning. That part is still buggy or whatever, so keep your post shorts for now – SEMI-PROGRESS.
– I can now post comments on my Friends’ LJ pages – PROGRESS.
– I received a response from LJ support for my support request this morning but they didn’t explain anything new, just to try and clear cookies and reload if Varnish Error message appears, etc. Very standard, very generic. – WHATEVER.

I wish you luck with your LJ adventures, people.

8 thoughts on “Livejournal, why so FAIL? – Another Update

    • Here’s my theory: Not sure who owns LJ now but as I understand it, ever since SUP (this Russian company) bought Livejournal, a lot of high profile Russian politicos have been blogging on it. What the owners didn’t count on was the fact that there are political oppositions of these bloggers that want to shut them up. So they attacked the website, completely disregarding the fact that Livejournal is NOT at all about politics elsewhere around the world and thus giving the rest of their users in other parts of the world trouble. I think it was a bad idea in the first place to sell it to Russia… I don’t hate Russians, and I respect their need for a platform where they can do free speech, but I can’t deny that this would have all been better if they stay away from Livejournal. I don’t know what LJ will do after this last attack but they need to do something to prevent similar incidents in the future. Otherwise, I think it’ll sink lower than now… I hear people are already leaving the website because of various reasons. I’m afraid that if they just stand by without doing anything to prevent DDOS attacks in EVERY WAY POSSIBLE, they will lose more users. *sigh*

      • Oh, now that’s a piece of interesting info…..Yes, I’m seriously considering leaving it behind. I always loved LJ and the people but I can’t trust it anymore. If I put up a post that I need to go out, I must be assured that people can click on the link and get to that post. This is really uncomfortable……and un-nerving :0(

        Cheers…..

  1. Thanks so much for the advice and information.

    I logged on using Firefox and I got straight on – first time in ages🙂

    Thanks again

  2. I didn’t notice these earlier problems with LJ, but now that WordPress has been blocked in China (well, if you can’t evade the GFW), and I thought I’d go back to LJ, I found that I’ve gone from being able to get to small sections of the site to getting nowhere at all. This has now been going on for days.

    As far as I’m aware, LJ was also the last major international blog host that wasn’t blocked in China. If it’s gone for good, that’s a depressing prospect for anyone (mainly expats) stuck behind the GFW.

    • What I know about LJ in China is a little bit different. I’ve had friends of friends complaining about the website being blocked in China since 3 years ago. So I’m not sure what’s going on… but I’m truly shocked to learn that WordPress is also blocked in China. I guess freedom of speech is not a concept the government is comfortable with? I sympathize with your situation… it can’t have been easy to deal with ‘blockages’ like this. I suggest trying Dreamwidth.org as an alternative to Livejournal. It has the same interface as LJ so it should be quite familiar. I just hope it’s not blocked there either.

      • Ironically China has a lot of things blocked, They had the game World of Warcraft so behide that when cataclysm was released to most of the world China was only just getting wraith of the lich king expansion pack. From my own understanding when having discussions with friends its China’s politics who “ban” in fear of what china may learn from other countries.

        As for LJ I stopped actually blogging there after six apart sold it to Sup. then it was going down hill and concerns among many where worried about being censored in personal posts. It doesn’t surprise me that its still a fail blog system today. As to blogging now I use WordPress myself on my own personal hosting best move I could ever had done.

Leave a Reply

