Chris Colfer: The Beginning of the Beginning

The 68th Annual Golden Globes was today and I had fun watching the show. I made no secret that I watch it mainly to look at the eye candies like James Franco, Johnny Depp, Christian Bale, Colin Firth, Emma Stone and the likes. I don’t actually care about the movies – and most of the actors and actresses – nominated.

But I do have one person among the nominees for whom I’m rooting and wishing from the bottom of my heart would win the category he was nominated in, Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television. That person is, of course, Glee‘s Chris Colfer.

It’s really hard for me not to root for Chris when the guy has caught my attention since the first time he appeared on FOX’s hit TV show. Of course back in the first few episodes of Season 1, I used to call him Kurt “The Cute Little Twink” Hummel. A bit derogatory, yes, but I couldn’t really help myself, seeing as he didn’t have a storyline. It was funny seeing Amber Riley’s Mercedes throw a rock at his car’s front window because she thought he had the hots for Rachel Berry (when instead he was looking at the hunky Finn Hudson) but that was really it. I thought, “Oh, he’s just going to be this token gay character on TV that’s there for comic relief and not much else.”

That’s why I was so shocked to see how much he had grown when he performed Madonna & Justin Timberlake’s 4 Minutes in the Madonna tribute episode in the last half of Season 1. I’d taken a long hiatus from watching Glee at that point (I stopped at Episode 3 and continued later after the Madonna episode) so I had no idea how much Kurt Hummel – and by extension, Chris Colfer – had grown. Not only was he taller and sexier, he was also even more badass. So I backtracked and watched the awesome start of Kurt Hummel’s storyline that began with a Single Ladies choreography, a father-son interaction with Mike O’Malley, and an issue of accepting his sexuality on the show.

The moment I saw him dancing that silly little Beyonce dance on the football field and nabbed the position of a kicker because of it? I became a fan. I thought, “Wow, this kid has chops.”

Throughout Season 1,  I was by turns humored and saddened by Kurt’s story. Chris Colfer is such a genius that he can make me cry just by wibbling his lips on screen at something mean someone said. A lot of people complained about how creepy Kurt was in his attempt to get closer to Finn by matchmaking their parents, but I just couldn’t find fault with the character. Of course, later on I realized, I wasn’t as in love with the character (because even though I was in Team Kurt all the way, yeah, I thought he was a little bit too pushy) as I am with the actor.

What can I say? I’m a sucker for guys who look good, can sing, can dance and can act really well. Basically, his talent was so palpable, it was hard to miss his shine. Before Theatricality even aired, I was already campaigning for him to get a Golden Globe or an Emmy or whatever.

Because any guy who could sing like this deserves an award for just being able to pull it off.

We all know how much further Kurt’s storyline grew in Season 2 with Grilled Cheesus (ep. 3), Never Been Kissed (ep. 6) and Furt (ep. 8). Through it all, whether Colfer is portraying Kurt as an atheist whose father is in the brink of mortality, a teenage boy who is bullied and gets his first kiss stolen by his bully, eye flirting with another boy in prep school uniform, or trying to teach his former crush/future stepbrother dancing, he always does it with such class and skill that it’s hard to believe that:

1. He’s only 20 years old.
2. This character is his first professional TV gig.
3. He came from small town America and used to be bullied.

People can hate Kurt Hummel all they want (although I would ask these haters why. Kurt Hummel is one of the most brilliantly written characters in television today. He is original, he is phenomenal, he is multi-dimensional, he is human and real and he is, on top of all, interesting.) But I would be upset if anyone hated Chris Colfer. This young man deserves only love and even more love for being the brilliant person that he is. He oozes intelligence in each of his interview, which is rare for an actor his age, and his maturity shines through in everything he says, be it on Twitter, or in any of the videos he appears in. Not only that, he sounds genuinely humble and down-to-earth, and strikes me as someone who takes his craft seriously. This is S-E-X-Y with all capital letters and of the highest level.

To wow us even further, this 20-year-old Clovis, California native is going to write his own movie. If that doesn’t convince people that he’s in this biz for the long run, I don’t know what will.

Sure, only time will tell if he’s going to screw up his future, but right now – with the way he’s working and behaving – he looks more and more likely to be following Natalie Portman’s footsteps instead of Lindsay Lohan. I like to believe that Glee‘s creator Ryan Murphy, whom Colfer calls in his “fairy godfather”, and his cronies will help guide and shape Colfer’s career.

I always likened Colfer to Harry Potter star Daniel Radcliffe, who started in the showbiz at an even younger age than Colfer. Radcliffe grew up in an environment where there are a lot of positive adult influences. Colfer is not much different. Judging from the lovely words his fellow cast members and other actors who are Colfer’s senior in Hollywood (like Jesse Tyler Ferguson of Modern Family) have to say about him, I gather that Colfer will continue to grow with wonderful influences in his career and achieve something very significant.

For now, though, Colfer can bask in the joy and pride of winning his first ever Golden Globe. I congratulate him for keeping calm and collected, even managing to churn out a beautiful speech, which is not something even the majority of adult winners at this year’s Golden Globes could say, despite looking like he was about to pass out when his name was announced as the winner.

“But most importantly to all the amazing kids that watch our show and the kids that our show celebrates – who are constantly told “NO” by the people in their environments, by bullies at school that they can’t be who they are or have what they want because of who they are. Well, screw that, kids!”

(Very well said, Mr. Colfer. Well said, indeed.)

He can enjoy the well-deserved attention for a little while… at least until the SAG Awards roll around at the end of the month, where it remains to be seen whether he can win anything again or not. (I am rooting for him again, naturally.) He can also focus on playing Kurt Hummel, whom I’ve heard will have major scenes to do in the next couple of episodes when Glee returns from their hiatus, for now and not worry whether he will still be popular at the end of the year (because I’m sure he will). The future is far… he still has a long road ahead of him. It’s not going to be easy for him but at least he’s taken several firm steps in the right direction.

Congratulations, Chris Colfer. I love you as an actor and I think I could love you even more as a person. Keep up the good work; your fans will be behind you all the way. Television has never been the same since you came on it – that’s how much you rock.

Leave a Reply

