In Bruges

Two nights ago I watched In Bruges, starring Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, Ralph Fiennes, Clemence Poesy and Jordan Prentice. And I must say, I am impressed as hell.

If I hadn’t been so caught up in work that I watched this movie more than a year late, this movie would’ve made my Favorites List in 2008 or 2009 as the no. 1 movie of that year. (Yeah, it’s a bit pathetic… I’m not usually this late watching a movie.)

The story of a remorseful hitman who’d accidentally killed a child on the job, it’s sentimental without being soppy. The movie managed to draw tears from me at many points, but every single time a scene makes me cry, it also makes me laugh at the same time. I lost count of how many times I shouted to my sister amid my bout of laughter, “This is so sad but why is it so funny?” I was literally laughing through my tears there.

Most of these moments (and there are many) come from the lines and dialogue exchanges between Farrell and Gleeson, who are playing the hitmen Ray and Ken, both of whom are absolutely brilliant in their roles. I won’t even bother giving you an example of these lines because it won’t sound as funny without Farrell and Gleeson saying them. Added with a Ralph Fiennes who uses the effing F word behind every other word in the same effing sentence (and calls his effing wife an effing inanimate object), the movie’s lines are plenty effing fantastic.

And can I just say how fantastic the setting of this movie is? I do so love a movie set in beautiful cities and Bruges looks more than just fantastic… it’s gorgeous! It seems very much like a random choice of city but it does have a nice ring to the lines, whenever Ray complains about being “in Bruges”. It makes for a very clever catchphrase! Bruges has officially made my “Places to See Before To Die” list.

I would put this movie in the same category as Kinky Boots and The Full Monty. Neither are nowhere near as dark as In Bruges, of course, but they’re the same kind of British movies that are humorously sentimental. They’re movies that’ll make you laugh without resorting to general arseholiness. I also like the fact that it doesn’t have that kind of ‘gloss’ Guy Ritchie’s gangster epics usually provide by bringing in an epic all-star cast. So the whole movie is just infinitely more sincere and thoughtfully crafted.

In short, I love it to pieces. There should be more movies in the world like this one.

Speaking of, is it just me or is this movie as much a Harry Potter reunion as Sweeney Todd was? I mean, Lord Voldemort, Moody and Fleur Delacour in the same movie. And this might be a coincidence, but Brendan Gleeson’s son Domnhall is going to play Bill Weasley in Deathly Hallows, who will marry Clemence’s Fleur. So, Clemence will have played with 2 generations of Gleesons. Either the Brit film industry is very small or these people are just clique-ish.😉

Leave a Reply

